Desprate help on hoverboard project

Hello complete noob here, im completely lost on what im doing. I have gotten as far as to do a motor test and succeeded but now im getting a lot of issues with the coding. Specifically with the Phase_offset_float. It says it should be -.5, -1.5,.5, or 1.5 but im at 0 and don’t know how to change it. Also, when completing the last step before the pwm input the motor doesnt do anything when it should be running. Also what pwm controller would anyone recommend to use as a beginner (I have to finish the project in 2 weeks). Is the rc pwm easy to setup? Do i need a arduino or raspberry pie? Help is greatly appreciated as this is my first time coding.

1 Like

phase_offset_float is something that is set automatically when you run the calibration. Assuming the calibration is successful (the motor should turn forwards and then backwards) then you should have those values.
If it only turns in one direction, then something went wrong (maybe the Hall sensors are not connected properly, or maybe you have the wrong counts per rev) so you should use dump_errors(odrv0) to find out what is going on.

If you are controlling from a raspberry pi, I would highly recommend to use the USB interface from python rather than PWM. If you are using an Arduino, then I’d suggest to use the UART serial interface.
The RC PWM is really only useful if your controller is a radio control transmitter & receiver.
But what is best depends on what you are trying to do and what you have available. ODrive is pretty flexible.

When you say “hoverboard project” do you mean that you are using hoverboard motors for something else, (e.g. something like Oskar’s shopping trolley) or are you trying to make your own self-balancing hoverboard?
Because for a first-time coder who only has two weeks to complete, it would be quite a challenge to make a self-balancer. :grimacing:

1 Like