Direct posistion control

Hi,

I am trying to improve the speed and bandwidth of my control loop. I was thinking about removing the velocity control loop and feeding the position controller directly to the current controller. From what I have found about cascade controllers this should speed up the full loop by about 3 times. Is there any specific reason why you guys chose the cascaded loop? And do you know if anyone has tried something similar before so I have something to go off. I am pretty new at C++.

Thanks

Hi,

The cascaded PI velocity inside P position loop is mathematically identical to a parallel position → torque PID loop, but with different units for the gains. I.e. there should be no difference.

Can you give a link to where you read about this 3x improvement?

Hi,

I am having trouble finding an exact source for the 3x improvement, I’m not sure that is the right way to use it. What I have found on a few websites and in a textbook is just that the inner loops of any cascade controllers must be at least 3 times faster than their master controller to keep the controller stable. I thought it probably had something to do with the nyquist frequency of the inner loop, but as I said I can’t find any hard evidence, just rules of thumb. I understand that there are benefits to using the cascaded loop but for my application the velocity is not of much interest.

I thought this website was pretty nice, it only mentions the slave controller must be faster (not necessarily 3x)

Thanks

Why don’t you explain what problem you have with the implemented controller? I think that will be more productive.