Have plans for lasers, invite all input

Hello,
Name is Josh Lotts, I run the fastest growing info hub for DIY lasers on facebook - The Laser Guild
That being said, I have been building lasers for 8 years now. Well before it became a popular DIY project and have not stopped learning since.
Naturally gantries require automation and said automation requires motors.
I’ve built machines that use everything from 2-3 phase stepper systems to current clearpath hybrid monsters that are achieving well over 2kmm/s with 5G+ loads.
Also, ironically I am a long time RC buff with airplanes, helicopters, drones and cars since 1991. That being said, I was around for the brushless/lipo game changing modernization of the industry.
Ultimately, this has brought me here.
For those with such RC models, it’s undeniable how powerful those brushless motors are and it had me thinking about implementation for CNC years back.
Unfortunately I am not a programmer or chipset builder. (I’m learning)
Low and behold! ODrive filled in what I wasn’t capable. This is great news for me.
I’ve been watching the start till now with this production and am happy to say am finally in a place where it would make sense to move forward on this.

What I would like to do is build a unit featuring these drives and am going to need a lot of input along the way. If I am able to get the performance specs I am after, this may very well change a vast majorities opinions on what the standards should be with affordable options such as ODrive. Anyhow, I’ll post more later, just thought I would toss out an intro, my intentions and purpose being here. Look forward to hearing from you guys!

2 Likes

As in, a laser cutter?
Certainly, Odrive should be MUCH faster than steppers :slight_smile:

But then I thought laser cutters were normally speed-limited by laser power, not motors? :stuck_out_tongue:

Hi! And thanks for responding.
And to your ideas of lasers, yes maybe for most, and no that doesn’t really apply to me.