Information on the current control loop structure

Hi,
I am a Master student of Mech. Engineering, currently working on my master thesis.
A brief introduction to put my questions in context:
I will be using the ODrive (as of now I have the 56V, 3.6 version and two 5056 PM brushless motors) for the TORQUE control of a wheeled self balancing robot (similar to the Ascento, to make myself clearer). I stress " torque "control because I will be using some advanced MPC techniques and the natural inputs to the system are the wheel torques; therefore I need to control the torque as precisely as it is possible. I will then probably integrate the system using ROS and I plan of using a Raspberry Pi 4 B as the onboard computer (probably, I am still at an early stage).

My questions are directly meant to be answered by the creators of ODrive but please, feel free to contribute if you think you can.

During my degree (actually pretty recently) I studied some control strategies for PM machines (also for IM) and, in particular, FOC. My questions are directly related to the understanding of the current torque loop control implementation on the ODrive.

This is a not negligibly lenghty list of my questions:

1. To my understanding (please correct me if I am wrong), a regulation strategy in the so-called Synchronous Reference Frame is employed (in particular the qd0 frame). I know for a fact that the expression of the torque in the reference frame is 3/2P_pairs[PM_flux*i_q+(L_d-L_q)i_qi_d]. I read in the forum various instances suggesting an estimation of the torque using only the i_q component and the Kv rating of the motor. Isn’t that “wrong” in the case we are not dealing with an isotropic machine? In that case L_q and L_d would be different and the torque would depend also on the i_d component.