Introductions | New to the Forum

Introduce yourself to the forum in this topic.

Make your first post and say Szia, Guten Tag, Bonjour, Aloha, Hola, Ni hao, Hello, Howdy!
Tell us about your plans for Odrive!

Hello! My name is Luke. I’m 35 years old.
I am from Northern Wisconsin.

I’m in IT security by day, and I moonlight as a mechanical design student and machinist / inventor.
I have roughly 8 years of experience in electronics manufacturing services where I wore nearly every possible hat, often more than one at a time.

I’ve worked in EMS machine maintenance, programming and operations oversight of a leaded and lead free surface mount pick and place line. I also have extensive experience in the same areas with regard to; axial and radial insertion, selective, hot bar, wave and hand soldering.
I hand developed the final product assembly line that produces one of the most popular US made trail cameras available to the consumer and commercial markets. This box build line continues to produce completely assembled cameras ready to ship to the customer with an average return rate of under 0.2% through the use of poka-yoke mentality.

I plan to make a 3 axis Cartesian vertical mill with Odrive.
Specifically I would like to develop Odrive for use as a spindle controller.
Even more specific, an intelligent power feed. One that is aware of the torque limits of the tool it is working with, so it might prevent, for example, broken taps.

1 Like

Hey there!

My name is Oskar Weigl, and I’m the original developer of the ODrive.

I am from Sweden, but I haven’t lived in Sweden for the past 7 years.
I did my university in London, where I was heavily involved in the Imperial College Robotics Society. During my time there I worked on all kinds of projects, like this LED screen, this Eurobot robot, and an indoor SLAM quadrotor. Me and a friend also made PiFM which got quite popular back in the day.