Making a DIY tv lift system

Hi All.

I am trying to make something like [1] with the odrive. I am a system engineer by day. so i lack in the mechanical/electrical skills department :slight_smile:

The TV i am trying to lift is speced with >=70lbs. I want to rate my system to be able to lift between 30kg to 40kg. I am still researching what type of pulley system i can use to reduce the load on the motor. Can i use an odrive motor for this or its an overkill ?

Would anyone of you please help me figure what i would be more suitable in terms of motor capable of lifting a load/pulley system load like this ? If i went with a cheap dc motor (there are plenty of videos on how to drive one with arduino) what would you recommend ?

[1]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gdvzEiHGiqU

just buy linear actuators off eBay. Cheap enough and come rated to the necessary force you want.

1 Like

This is super interesting for me to get into motors and arduinos. I am trying to make it a diy project and not buy something off the shelf

1 Like

Sorry, but linear actuators are the correct hardware for this. If you want to you could build one yourself with a motor, a threaded rod and a nut. I wouldn’t reccomend anything under M5.
They have backlash, but in this application that doesn’t matter. Be aware that they have a very fine pitch and you need to rotate them quite fast. For M10 e.g.:

Vlin(in mm/s)=RPM/60*1.5mm

Hi Leo.

I am super new to the jargon :slight_smile: Can you hydrate what you mean by M5/M10 for me please? Anything i can google will be fine.

I am glad you hinted towards a DIY linear actuator with a rod. i saw a youtube video [1] that (maybe) explains what you are saying. Unfortunately he does not cover the actual theoretical limits in terms of load this particular motor is capable of lifting. If you can point me to a (cheap) dc motor that can lift 30~40kg with that system i would really appreciate.