Motor controller design question

Something I’ve wondered about design of things like the ODrive controller. For context, I’m a software engineer and know very little about EE / circuit design.

As I understand it, the ODrive has a little microcontroller that runs the firmware and controls the power transistors. In principle it seems like you could run this control program (the firmware) on a general purpose computer (assuming it had a suitably real-time OS), with something like GPIO for encoder input / power transistor control.

I assume there’s reasons we don’t do this, but I’m curious why? I could imagine at least the current arrangement might simplifying wiring.

1 Like

Hi @ahupp :slight_smile:

You’re quite right, there is no /fundamental/ reason that a motor drive cannot be implemented in pure software on some general purpose computer. The main reason we use microcontrollers, as you guessed, is real-time performance, particularly in terms of low-latency (the time it takes to react to an input, usually measured in nanoseconds) and determinism (aka “jitter”): i.e. the standard deviation of the time it might take to execute a given piece of code, given interrupts and other factors.

High-throughput general purpose desktop CPUs like x86 are utterly horrendous for latency, because of their heavy use of caching, virtual memory, branch-prediction, low-level firmware interrupts, and other “features” which mean that whatever software you write, either the OS, firmware, or hardware can screw up your timing. They might be fast in terms of throughput (but power hungry and expensive) but they are terrible for latency, and the latency is unpredictable, ie they have high jitter.