My mechatronics studies final project

Hi everyone,
My name is Amit and I’m a 12th-grade high school student.
These days I’m working on my mechatronics studies final project which is a “cubli” inspired project That I decided to name “Cubex”.
(If you are not familiar with the “cubli” project you should really watch this video)

At the moment, I’m looking for a motor controller for the project and it seems that the ODrive might just fit pretty well.
In order to be sure it will do the job, I would really appreciate if you guys can answer some question about the ODrive for me:

1. My motor is a hall-effect sensored bldc motor. will I be able to get the current speed in real-time?
  2. Is it possible to control the velocity by acceleration? can I send acceleration values that will change the speed?
  3. In Velocity Control Mode - is it possible to command negative speed for reversed motion?
  4. Is the velocity control a closed-loop?
  5. Is the controller what some calls a “4-quadrant” controller? can it apply negative torque to the motor while it spins in the other direction?
  6. Can the ODrive be controlled from a microcontroller?
  7. Will it work well in low speeds with 18V and Continuous current of 4 Amps? (Max current 10 amps)

And last but not least - is there any way to get a discount as my budget is very limited?

The pictures below are from my fusion360 cad design of Cubex :smiley:
Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi

Interesting project, someone from my school is making the same.

1. yes

2. yes, take a look at the docs

3. yes, take a look at the docs

4. yes, but it would be better with an encoder tho

5. I think so

6. yes

7. How slow do you want is to turn?

Last but not least, no, I used 3 ODrive’s in my graduation project (6 dof racesimulator) and I didn’t get a discount.

Cheers

Carelsbergh Stijn

@Stijn_Carelsbergh Thank you for your answer.