NameError: name 'odrivetool' is not defined

Hello. I’ve already spent hours trying to figure out why this python code doesn’t work. I am using Anaconda, but I don’t understand how to fix the “path”.
I keep getting this error when I try to calibrate the motor:
{
“fw_version”: “0.6.6”,
“commit_hash”: 307587176,
“product”: “5.2.0”,
“active_errors”: 0,
“active_errors_str”: “NONE”,
“disarm_reason”: 2,
“disarm_reason_str”: “SYSTEM_LEVEL”,
“procedure_result”: 3,
“procedure_result_str”: “DISARMED”,
“last_drv_fault”: 0,
“internal_issues”: 0
}
I am clueless how to fix this. I would have to say that this motor controller is NOT VERY GOOD if it’s going to be so DIFFICULT to use. I feel that tutorial video just INSULT us. There’s no mention of what Python tool to use. I’m new to Python, so it’s all very confusing.

Hello

When you include screenshots of what you are trying to do, people will be more likely to help you because with little information, we can’t help you. Post some screenshots of what you are trying to do and also of the errors you are getting.

Cheers

Carelsbergh Stijn

1 Like

Hi, I’m sorry you’re having difficulties with the python library. As Stijn_Carelsbergh mentioned could you please include some screenshots of where you are seeing this error?

Which tutorial video are you referring to? In general I would suggest using the web GUI to configure and calibrate your ODrive, it does not require installing or writing any Python code.

If Python is really the only option you can find installation and usage instructions for odrivetool here.

1 Like

Thank you. I did include the error that the GUI was showing me.
I don’t know why, but my computer at work (a modern, lousy laptop) doesn’t do so well with this as my computer at home (an old, but real desktop computer).
Here I keep getting a SYSTEM_ERROR message, while at home this problem doesn’t happen. I don’t understand why the web GUI is so sensitive to which computer I use.