Need help understanding how the driver drv8301 work

Hi, i’m Matteo, i’m a student form Italy.
I’m building up a 6 axis robot and i need help on controlling some brushless motor. I was undecided on what type of motor i need to use, because the 2 first axis need a geardown reduction (that i alredy have), initially i thought about using some stepper motor but they are too slow for this application. So while i was searching online i found this open-source project. As a Automation Student i was trying to understand how the Driver DRV8301 can control the position of the motor, even without an encoder. Could someone help me understanding how it works ?
What type of wave do you have to send to the 3 or 6 PWM control on the driver ?
My idea is to have an arduino instead of the STM32F405RGT6 Microcontroller.
Thanks for the help.

Actually you need an encoder.

ODrive uses the 6-signal type. I would suggest that you read about Space Vector Modulation in this thesis..

I would strongly advice against that. I would suggest that you broaden your horizons outside the world of Arduino instead. STM32’s are quite popular, and it’s a good investment to learn.

1 Like

thanks for answrering me, i’m here because i want to learn, so i wiil follow your suggestion.
STM32 is a 32 bit microcontroler just like the Microchip one’s, am i right ? Because i’m used to use those ones.
Another question, is the board using the BFEM methos to find the current position ? What kind of PWM wave are u generating for the driver ?
Thanks for the help

Yes it’s a 32 bit microcontroller. No the controller doesn’t use back-emf to find the position, it uses the encoder. We do have a sensorless implementation also, but that can’t do position control through zero speed. The waveform is called Space Vector Modulation, the one I was suggesting to go read about before.

Ok, i’ve read and also searched on other book about SVM. after i spent a lot of time reading,I think that i understood how it works.