Noob question about isolators

Hi, I have some prior experience with electronics, but only low-power arduino devices (i.e nothing involving external power supplies), so I’m struggling to understand exactly how ground loops work. The docs make it pretty clear that I need a USB isolator between the computer and odrive when initially calibrating it, and I’m sure many questions have been asked on this topic, but I haven’t found one with my particular setup so I’d just like to be sure I don’t fry anything.

My final setup will look something like this:

USB serial                 UART
PC <------------> Arduino <--------------> Odrive S1 <--------------> BLDC motor
                                                ^
                                                |
                                                v
                                          Power supply

I see the UART example connects the arduino directly to the odrive, so does that mean I still only need a single isolator (between the PC and arduino)? Or should the arduino be isolated from Odrive and can then be connected directly to computer?

Thanks

Hi! Apologies for the delay in my response.

In many situations where it’s just a PC <-> ODrive <-> Power Supply, a ground loop actually won’t be formed. However, since it would be very easy to create a ground loop with minimal modification to this system (e.g. an Arduino is connected to the PC and grounded to the power supply), it’s much simpler and safer for all involved to necessitate a USB isolator whenever the ODrive is controlled over USB and used with DC power – there’s no downsides to using an isolator, and the upside is that it’s much harder to damage the ODrive or your PC’s USB ports.

The ODrive S1 has an isolated UART interface, though, so as long as the Arduino is only connected to the S1’s ISO_VDD/RX/TX/ISO_GND ports and not connected to the power supply DC-, both the PC and Arduino will not share a ground domain with the ODrive.