ODrive GUI to eliminate Shell CMD interface?

Given that the Odrive utilizes Python for commands via the CMD Prompt, is there projected development of a GUI (perhaps like the VESC tool) to make setting up the Odrive more user friendly? I was trying my hand at it but honestly, I don’t know enough coding to do it effectively.

It’s on the development roadmap, and we plan to do this soon :slight_smile:

2 Likes

That’s great news! Thank you for the update! Can’t wait for the release!

Hey, I’m new to the community (I just heard of ODrive last Wed. ordered mine Friday and it just arrived in the mail today). I just wanted to say I’m an experienced C# developer who has been coding in Python, well, on and off for the last 3 years, but, almost exclusively the last 4 months or so. On top of that, GUI development has been my primary focus. I just wanted to reach out and see if I could be of any help; with any part, that is, not that I’ll only help with the GUI.

3 Likes

Hey, that’s cool. And welcome!
But please be aware that a lot of us (if not most) in this community are using Linux. I love C# for the language and its well-polished design principles, but the thing that makes me hate it is that it is controlled by Microsoft, and (deliberately?) doesn’t work cross-platform, especially not under Linux. Mono sometimes works, but a lot of the major toolkits (especially WPF) have never worked in Mono afaik.
Can you work with PyQT instead? :stuck_out_tongue:

I was working on a GUI myself in PyQT, but it fell by the side due to other demands on my time :frowning:

1 Like

Sorry, I thought I already replied to this…

Thank you for the warm welcome! However, you have the mistaken C# with .NET. The .NET Framework is not cross-platform; however, .NET Core is Linux and Mac compatible. I can’t say I blame you for the hate on Microsoft, but, I learned it because in 90% of the enterprise realm, you’ll see Microsoft/Windows.