Python code to monitor if Odrive connection lost

I am wondering if anyone have a suggestion on how to use python code to continuously monitor if the Odrive was disconnected for whatever reason.

odrive.find_any() command will automatically find an Odrive to connect. If using Odrivetool, if the USB was disconnected, it will post a message “oh no odrive0 disappeared”. How can i do the same using python code?

So far I use a thread to constantly pulling with a odrive command for example using .vbus_voltage. If the connection was lost, attributeError will occur then I can use the try: and exception to reconnect or post an error in my application.

Just wonder anyone have a better way to do this?

Thanks!

1 Like

I use a class to control all direct connection to odrive, and catch the error while connectionn lost. If an error occured , I’ll mark it as unavailable

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion. I am still learning my python and cannot quite figure out how you do what you describe. The method I did isn’t the best and I am having reconnect issue with it. Can you kindly show me how you catch the error? I noticed that once the connection lost (unplug the USB), pulling the odrive class will return "??? ". I think i can use ._remote_attributes.items() and see if the dictionary return ‘???’, but this look like a very inefficient way of doing this. Can the fibre object return something to indicate connection lost? Thanks again

def _check_odrive_link(func):
    @wraps(func)
    def wrapper(self, *args, **kwargs):
        if not self._is_connected:
            return 0
        try:
            return func(self, *args, **kwargs)
        except (AttributeError, ChannelBrokenException):
            self._is_connected = False
            return 0

return wrapper

then you can use
@_check_odrive_link
def myfunction(self, arg1, arg2):
return XXX

1 Like

zjqtzzc, thanks for sharing.