Velocity Control & Encoder Question

Hi all, I’m new to the subject of controlling BLDC motors and have a few questions about the oDrive.

I have a project that involves controlling the rpm of a bldc motor precisely. From say 100 RPM to 12,000 RPM or more. If I were to use a quadrature encoder at what count/sec would the odrive have difficulty (lose or miss counts).

Also is there an example using an arduino to set the velocity control and what would be the precision of it?

Command exists in ODriveArduino.h (https://github.com/madcowswe/ODrive/tree/master/Arduino/ODriveArduino)

void SetVelocity(int motor_number, float velocity);

Project involves setting the RPM and Time for which the motor should spin. Would like to also be able to control the acceleration and deceleration of the motor. Lastly is there documentation on using a brake resistor with this drive?

Very possible these subjects have been discussed, appreciate if anyone can point me to those threads.

Greatly appreciate your comments! Thanks!

3 Likes

First of all, I don’t know if ODrive can run at 12000+ RPM. But nevertheless, if the only thing you care about is velocity control, then you can choose an encoder with a relatively low CPR. This way the ODrive will not have the problem of skipping counts.

The precision of the velocity control depends of many variables. Like the attached load, disturbances from the outside, motor quality, motor type, parameters from the PI loop for velocity control (more about that here https://docs.odriverobotics.com/control), but when everything is optimized, I find that ODrive does a pretty good job of keeping the velocity stable.

To set the velocity you can indeed use that command with the velocity in counts/second (I guess). If that’s the case, you will need to convert RPM to counts/second using the encoders CPR.