3.3V power being pulled low to 2.5V, M0 pin Z shorted to Gnd

TL;DR: I tried to do the ODrive motor calibration sequence on a “robotics motor”, heard a “pop”. Now ODrive is not connecting to odrivetool, 3.3V is only 2.3-2.5V, and M0 pin Z seems to be shorted to ground.

Hi everyone,

I am new to ODrive and recently bought two ODrive V3.6 24V version motor controllers. I successfully got one of the ODrives to do calibration and closed loop control ( odrv0.axis0.requested_state = AXIS_STATE_FULL_CALIBRATION_SEQUENCE and AXIS_STATE_CLOSED_LOOP_CONTROL) by following the Getting Started guide with a Turnigy gimbal motor 5208 and an AMS 5047P encoder. So far so good.

I attempted to do the same with a “robotics motor” similar to this one from T-Motor with an AMS 5047P as the encoder. [As an aside, don’t get the T-Motor one if you’re looking for something similar, the gears don’t mesh well when I had the chance to try it out and it is overpriced. Let me know if you need suggestions!] What it is essentially is a large BLDC motor with a planetary gear set within the stator space. When I came to the full calibration sequence step, the motor would only jolt and move a tiny bit. Subsequent commands would not move the motor (despite the power led being on) until I power cycled the ODrive. With dump_errors(odrv0) in odrivetool, I see that the error is ERROR_MODULATION_MAGNITUDE. Thinking that maybe the issue is with motor.config.calibration_current and motor.config.current_lim, I repeated the above steps a few times with different values and got the motor to make the “thunk” sound a few more times.