Calibration problem (not spinning) with SunnySky M8 100 KV

Hi all,

I am new to brushless motor and testing 24V Odrive v3.6 with SunnySky M8 100 KV BLDC.

Based on the information of SunnySky M8 100 KV (https://sunnyskyusa.com/collections/m-motors/products/sunnysky-m8-motors), I have tested the motor calibration with the code below. The motor generates a short beep sound, but it does not move at all. Any idea what the problem could be?

===========================================================

odrv0.config.brake_resistance = 0.181

odrv0.axis0.motor.config.pole_pairs = 21
odrv0.axis0.motor.config.current_lim = 4
odrv0.axis0.controller.config.vel_limit = 1860
odrv0.axis0.motor.config.calibration_current = 1
odrv0.axis0.motor.config.motor_type = MOTOR_TYPE_HIGH_CURRENT

odrv0.axis0.controller.config.vel_ramp_rate = 0.0001
odrv0.axis0.controller.config.vel_gain = 0.01
odrv0.axis0.controller.config.vel_integrator_gain = 0.05
odrv0.axis0.controller.config.control_mode = 2
odrv0.axis0.sensorless_estimator.config.pm_flux_linkage = 5.51328895422 / (21 * 100)
odrv0.axis0.motor.config.direction = 1

odrv0.axis0.motor.config.current_lim = 2 * odrv0.axis0.config.sensorless_ramp.current

odrv0.save_configuration()
odrv0.reboot()

odrv0.axis0.requested_state = AXIS_STATE_MOTOR_CALIBRATION

===========================================================

Thanks in advance,

Andrew

Hi Andrew,

That behavior sounds normal. Motor Calibration only measures the motor resistance and inductance, it does not move the motor. What is your desired operating mode? I see that you have some values set for sensorless control.

If you do desire sensorless control, be aware that it only works for velocity control mode and it has a minimum RPM that depends on your motor (it is not designed to stop after it starts running).

Here are some suggested settings: