Controlling Speed of Generator

Hi all - I am very new to electronics so I apologize for the lack of knowledge.

I am looking to do a small project using a scroll expander connected to a generator in order to create power. The mechanical energy would be sourced from a pressurized air stream flowing through the scroll expander. The air stream is somewhat irregular and would cause fluctuations in the rotational speed. In an effort to make things more complicated I wanted to see if it were possible to control the rotational speed of the expander/generator using the Odrive.

The two questions I am trying to answer are:

1.) How would you best manage the irregular rotational speed to produce cleaner power (BLDC with an inverter)?

2.) Would the ODrive be able to control the rotational of the generator?

I appreciate any help.

I think the simplest way would be to use the ODrive in velocity mode and then just set a velocity setpoint. Then the motor + scroll expander should run at that speed independent of the air pressure: the braking/generating torque would be modulated to match to keep the speed constant.

The main complication would be tuning the velocity control loop gains, but hopefully some trial and error can land you on something reasonable.

Of course this would mainly work if you have a battery or supercapacitors attached to the DC bus that is buffering the power, and you would need to have an external controller that ramps down the velocity setpoint if it starts getting overcharged.

Thanks Madcowswe.

I do plan to have a better attached.

Do you have any recommendations on an external controller?

For the external controller: A teensy, raspberry pi, or even a pc could work.

Thanks.

This is probably not forum for this question, but maybe I can get some help.

If it wanted to do this same setup but scale up to say 1-3 kW. What would you all change.