Gui corrupt or wont open

I have just got my odrive running and tuned using the python code (which I am new at and find hard and slow to follow, its taken 2 days to get this far!). I have tried downloading the latest gui, but the zip file appears to be corrupt, even though I have downloaded on 2 PC’s. I have downloaded the exe. file which opens the front page and says there is a java script error and will do no more. I have updated java on the PC and still no joy. Suggestions please.

Hi Andy,

What does the error say? Also note that javascript is unrelated to java (terrible naming, I know).

Can you post a screenshot of the error?

Herewith screenshots of trying to open the zip file (a friend gets the same result) and opening the program from the stand alone exe.

Thank you!

Gui Zip|690x449 !

Java script error|690x387

Thanks for posting that! That javascript error is strange - I am unable to replicate it on my Win 10 machine. The zip file is not the source code, it’s the build of the GUI for Mac. I’m not sure why it’s corrupt, but that is a separate problem. I also can’t open it on Windows.

Which version of windows are you running? 32 or 64 bit?

At this point, the best way to get this solved is to run it from source to get more debugging information.

You’ll need nodejs+npm and git bash. You can get nodejs+npm here: Download | Node.js, and git bash for windows here: https://gitforwindows.org/. If either of those ask you to about adding them to PATH, choose “yes”.

After you install both of those, open git bash and clone the ODrive repo like this:

Skip the npm init part, that was a mistake. git clone pulls the source code from the ODrive repo. After that, change into the ODrive/GUI folder with cd. npm i will install all of the dependencies for the GUI - this takes a long time. On my machine, it took a few minutes for anything to show up after running it.