How to interpret bldc motor max voltage spec?

Hello oDrive community!

I have reached the Start odrivetool section of the getting started-documentation (link). At this point, it looks like power should have been applied, since 12V bus is measured in the odrivetool example, although “now apply power” is not stated explicitly anywhere.

I’m hesitating to connect my 24V power supply, since I noticed that the product page of my Donkey st4010 820kv motor specify a max voltage of ca 15V.

I’m new to blcd controllers, but I’ve used stepper motors with various sorts of controllers. Stepper motors have a voltage spec that one don’t have to respect and a current rating that you have to respect. Supplying a stepper motor controller using 24V rather than 12V gives tighter control (more torque, less heat) regardless of the motors rated voltage. Is it the same with bldc motors/controllers?

Or will the 24V PSU burn my donkey if I plug it in? :worried:

Increasing the voltage of your power supply will not immediately burn up or break your motor. The motor current is controlled by the motor controller, and it’s the current flowing through the motor that drives most of the heating in the motor. So as long as you set the current limit reasonably for your motor so you don’t overheat the windings, you’ll be fine at 24V. The winding insulation breakdown voltage is another potential limiting factor but I’ve never seen magnet wire be rated at less than 300V.