How to make motor turns to set position

Hi All,
I am new with odrive and try to control the position of the motor.
I want to turn the motor to turn until it gets the set position.
Try to use …controller.pos_setpoint and got error “this attribute cannot be written to”.
If I use the encoder position then how to make the motor move to the encoder position?

Thanks for your help

Hi there,

you have to use input_pos, not pos_setpoint

Are you using odrivetool? If you type odrv0.axis0.controller. and then hit tab, it will show you everything you can use, this can be handy if you are a beginner.

Thanks Acisre. Yes I am a beginner and using Odrive.
Is it a good idea to set current_lim to zero to stop the motor when it reaches the position?
I did that but don’t know is it a good idea to do that or do we have any command to stop the motor?
Went through the Docs but didn’t see any or maybe I missed :slight_smile:

hmm no you should not do that.

I think you are a bit confused. If you set your controller in position control mode, and you set a certain input_pos, then your motor will go to that input position and it will stay there, until you give another input_pos and so on…

What exactly are you trying to do?

Let say I have point A and I want to move to point B but I don’t know where is point B yet. So we can not use controller.input_pos = “A number”. I want to program so that I can use a joystick or press and hold a key on keyboard to make the motor keeps moving until it reaches point B then I will stop the movement by releasing the key or joystick. Record the point B position (encoder.shadow_count) and store it. And keep doing that until the set up is done. I will have a set of data of all positions.
When the operator runs the program, the motor moves in point B and stop there for a while do some tasks and move to the point C and stop, do some tasks and so on…
And the accuracy +/- 0.005 inch.
That is what I am trying to do. And I am using raspberry and Python.