How to use CAN bus in velocity mode

Hi

I’m a complete novice at this so please bear with me.

I’m making a 4x4 off-road electric wheelchair (I have Multiple Sclerosis but like going on hikes with friends)

I’ve got two odrive 56v boards in velocity mode controlling 4 hoverboard motors and I’m using an Arduino to generate the desired velocity of each wheel in revolutions/second based on the input from a joystick.

I was initially going to send this via serial to the odrives however I’m concerned about ground loops. That leaves CAN bus which I’ve got no experience with.

What is the best way for me to send the revolutions per second to my odrives via CAN? I can’t quite seem to get my head around the documentation for CAN protocol.

(please keep in mind that I am not an experienced programmer at all and barely managed to figure out the arduino stuff).

You’ll need to find an appropriate CAN library for your device, and then you will first configure the odrive to use velocity mode (easiest to do over USB, then save the configuration). Then you’ll send can messages by doing something like:

msg.id = axis_id << 5 | 0x00D;
msg.length = 8;

float desired_velocity = <whatever>;
memcpy(&msg.data[0], &desired_velocity, 4);
memcpy(&msg.data[4], 0, 4);

Thanks so much for getting back to me.

I’ve ordered an MCP2515 board for my Arduino because it looks lie the most commonly supported.

Do you know of any good resources for learning CAN? - your code went a little over my head which shows I need to do further reading. I assume it’s because I haven’t gotten my head around the concept of “packets” as I’m only used to the “stream” of serial communication.

1 Like

https://www.kvaser.com/can-protocol-tutorial/ is a pretty good intro to CAN.

Your serial stream is a sequence of 8-bit data packets.