I can't get any motor to move. I can't even get a beep. Help please!

Total Noob here, not a programmer… please forgive me!

I want to make a “lazy susan” table with a large gimbal motor under it to spin it to specific angles. The Odrive will receive input from an Frsky X8R drone receiver that outputs PWM servo signals.

I have already worked my way through the “Getting Started” section but was not able to get certain parts to work.

My Odrive board: 56 Volt Version 3.6, purchased in September 2020

My motor: T-motor G100 gimbal motor (I also tried 3 other motors)

My Encoder: 8192 CPR capacitive encoder from Odrive store

Battery hooked up to Odrive: 24 Volt

Things I have already done with Odrivetool:

Set current limit, Set cal current, set break resistance, set velocity limit, configured pole pairs, set encoder, and I set motor type to gimbal (Motor_TYPE_GIMBAL) Saved after all this.

Problem: In the “Getting started” everything is fine until I get to the part where I type :

odrv0.axis0.requested_state = AXIS_STATE_FULL_CALIBRATION_SEQUENCE

This should start the calibration sequence, but nothing happens, not even a beep. I then wanted to see if it was the motor, so I switched out for multiple other motors. None did anything. I checked the voltage going to the board using “odrv0.vbus_voltage” and the voltage reads fine, exactly the battery voltage.

What do you think is wrong?

Thank you to anyone who can help me

What errors (if any) does the odrive give?
dump_errors(odrv0)

Try setting it up as a normal motor. I wouldn’t recommend anyone to use MOTOR_TYPE_GIMBAL unless they know what they are doing. It’s a badly named feature, IMO.
MOTOR_TYPE_GIMBAL actually means “don’t use closed-loop current control - assume that the motor behaves like a plain inductor and not a motor, because velocity is always very low, and resistance & inductance are very high”

This is what came up immediately after trying to do the calibration sequence.