Large CNC router

Hi, Asle from Norway here.
I am a mechanical engineer, but I am completely cr@p at programming anything more advanced than a vcr :stuck_out_tongue:

I am building a large cnc router with travel in the areas of : X1300mm, Y2800mm, Z300mm. The structure consists of aluminium extrusions 90x90mm and 45x180mm. X-axis will be run by one belt, Y will be run by two belts, and Z will have a lead screw (or ball screw, I havenā€™t decided yet).

My initial plan was to use NEMA 34 steppers, as information on sizing of steppers is well explained on at least one million cnc websites, but I want closed loop, and I really like the idea of using bldc motors in stead of steppers.

And so over to the questions: Has anyone here built a cnc router, and are you guys able to help me choose the right size and power bldc motor?

Question two: It seems to me that the oDrive controller can accept Stp.Dir.Enable - signals from a break out board, Arduino, RaspberryPi or similar, and I guess the oDrive has to be set up for this. Does the oDrive retain the memory, or do I have to perform this set up every time I power up?

Sorry for the n00b questions, my programming skills are limited to simple editing of Arduino code, and old fashion PLCsā€¦

Regards
Asle

Nice, it will be cool to see how fast a large machine like that can move with powerful servomotors.

What belts will you be using (profile, pitch, width)? How many teeth on the drive pulleys? The thing with these brushless motors is that they are super fast (like 7000 RPM no problem), but the torque is not too much. So you should probably use the smallest drive pulley that is reasonable; but if you still need more torque, you should consider a 2:1 belt reduction before the belt drive pulley. What is the holding torque specified for a machine of your size coming from the NEMA34 recommendations?