Wiring circuit without causing a ground loop

I’m trying to figure out how to wire the circuits of my rover w/o causing a ground loop.
My circuit has two odrives, an AGX computer connected to both odrives, and three different power supplies for each device. I’ve been researching online for ways to prevent a ground loop and found two different options.
One option is to connect the AC grounds of the power supplies to one common ground. Another option is to connect the DC negatives together.
Which option would help prevent a ground loop in my setup? Is there a better way I could prevent it?
I’m fairly new to this, so I might be confusing some things. I just don’t want to risk frying an odrive or two.

Here’s a simplified diagram of the circuit, with both options drawn out and labeled:

1 Like

This is pretty dangerous (for the ODrives) because the CAN becomes the common ground.
Imagine the situation where one ODrive loses the negative connection to its PSU (or, because of parasitic inductance in the wiring, the voltage drop across the negative wire is momentarily high) we start to get high currents flowing in the CAN (or USB or UART) connection which is bad news.

What is your application? Is there a good reason to have two PSUs?
(note that the current drawn from the supply is less than the current in the motor. If the motor is turning slowly compared to its max speed, then you will draw very little from the supply, even for high motor currents)

The negative sides should be connected together as close as possible to the ODrive, and you can use an isolated CAN transciever on the AGX.
& don’t forget to use some ferrites on the motor outputs to help with EM noise, which otherwise could interfere with your encoders etc.