Driving Kollmorgen AKM42S Servo using ODrive

I am planning on using ODrive to control a Kollmorgen Servo Motor.
(AKM42S-ANSN2-02: https://drive.google.com/open?id=19x0QQIhNDC1kmObtXkrhfT5vLvAnVJoa)

I am fairly new to all this (only used simple brushed DC motors until now), and from what i understand these industrial servo motors are just big BLDC-Motors with an Encoder attached to them.

My Goal is to ultimately control the motor through a python script. I dont need particularly high RPM. I’m more looking for precise controll of position and tourqe in realtime.

Has anyone tried to use these kinds of motors with Odrive yet?
Is it possible at all, or am i completely wrong here?

Hello JanBalke420,
as far as I know, the motor type themselves are compatible, but the optimal voltage of that servo is too high for ODrive. If you are limited to using that motor, try stmbl. One of the main component for the current version (IRAM256-2067A2) is obsolete and out of stock everywhere, but I found 15A version (IRAM256-1567A2) from aliexpress.

Hey naktamello,

thanks for the reply. From what I can see, I would have to build the stmbl myself. Or is there any way of buying them fully assambled?

Since I want to use the motor mainly as a DIY Direct Drive Wheel for Simracing, I’m not seeing myself driving it with its full force anytime soon.

Also ODrive already provides a library for controlling it via python. I would have no idea how to do that with the stmbl.

You have to assemble stmbl yourself, but the project’s target motors are like the one you posted. From my experience ODrive works well with both those sold as hobby brushless motors and industrial bldc motors. If you can find motors with driving voltage <56V that can take an encoder on the backside I think you’ll be satisfied with ODrive’s performance and interfacing options.