Encoder on a driven shaft (not the motor)

Hello,
I am starting a design where the encoder (CUI AMT102 2048 PPR) will be on a shaft driven by a motor with pulley/belt with a (mandatory) reduction ratio of 60/16 = 3.75.

Does it work with odrive ?
If not, any hints to make it work ?

I am new to oDrive, sorry if this is a stupid or well-known question.

Thanks in advance

Why don’t you place it on the motor?

Cheers

Carelsbergh Stijn

I am using single shaft low cost MT4114 motor.
Placing the encoder on this shaft will be complicated and will require additional parts.
While placing it on the driven shaft will be obvious : no additional part, just screw the encoder on a plate traversed by this shaft.

I just find (very rare I think) GT2 15 teeth pulley instead of the 16T that I intended to use.
This will give a 4:1 reduction ratio.

Maybe using a 4:1 ratio instead of a 3.75 ratio will be easier to manage with oDrive. ?

Cheers,
Jean-Claude

Hi

Can you make a drawing of what you learn

Cheers

No, this is not an open design.

The question is not about the mechanical design.
The question is about the capability for oDrive to manage an encoder placed on a driven shaft with any reduction ratio.
Is there any restrictions ?

Cheers,

Not an open design, what do you mean? I’m just trying to help, I just want to know the working principle

Cheers

Thanks for your help.

By not an open design, I mean that I am not allowed to give any detail on the application.
The principle is very simple :
There is a small MT414 motor with a 16T pulley in a very tight enclosure (no room to add any other component on the shaft or in front of it).
From this 16T pulley, a belt drives a shaft with a 60T pulley on it.
The reduction ratio between the motor and this shaft is 60/15 = 3.75.
(This is equivalent to a geared motor with a 3.75 reduction ratio)
The only possibility is to place the encoder on this shaft.
That’s all I can explain.